Federal Minister of Health

Photo: Portrait of Hermann Gröhe
Source: Jochen Zick / action press

Hermann Gröhe was born in Uedem, district of Kleve, on 25th February 1961. He is married and has four children.

After studying law at Cologne University and taking his first legal State examination, he went on to become a research assistant at the Seminar für Staatsphilosophie und Rechtspolitik at Cologne University. From 1991 to 1993, he completed his practical legal training at the Regional Court of Cologne and, in 1993, passed his second legal State examination.

In 1977, Hermann Gröhe joined the CDU. From 1983 to 1989 he was chairman of the Neuss district branch of the Junge Union, the youth section of the CDU/CSU; from 1989 to 1994 he chaired the Junge Union Germany. He has served on the CDU Federal Executive Committee from 1990 to 1994 and since October 2009.

Since 1994, Hermann Gröhe has held a seat in the German Bundestag. From 1994 to 1998, he acted as the spokesperson of the “Young Group“ of the CDU/CSU parliamentary group and, from 1998 to 2005, was the spokesperson for human rights and humanitarian assistance of the CDU/CSU parliamentary group in the Bundestag. From September 2001 to November 2009, he chaired the CDU in the Rhine district of Neuss.

From 2005 to 2008, he acted as legal counsel to the CDU/CSU parliamentary group and, from 2006 to 2008 he was the spokesperson of the CDU/CSU parliamentary group in the First Committee of Inquiry. At the end of that legislative period, he served one year as a Minister of State to the Federal Chancellor with a portfolio comprising the coordination between the Federal Government and the 16 Laender, cutting red tape, and liaison with the Parliament. From October 2009 to December 2013, he was the CDU Secretary-General.

Hermann Gröhe was appointed Federal Minister of Health on 17th December 2013.

The Parliamentary State Secretaries

The Parliamentary State Secretaries represent the Minister in the political arena, that is, especially before the Bundestag, the Bundesrat, in work with the parliamentary groups as well as in specific policy areas.

Annette Widmann-Mauz was born in Tübingen on 13th June 1966. She is married and lives in Balingen. She studied political and legal science at Eberhard-Karls-Universität in Tübingen. Since October 2009, she has been Parliamentary State Secretary to the Federal Minister of Health and, since 1998, a member of the German Bundestag. From 2005 to 2009 she chaired the Working Group on Health of the CDU/CSU parliamentary group in the German Bundestag, from 2002 to 2009 she acted as health policy spokesperson, from 2001 to 2002 as Special Representative for consumer protection and food safety and, since 2000, has served as a member of the Executive Committee of the CDU/CSU parliamentary group. In December 2012, Annette Widmann-Mauz was voted into the CDU Federal Executive Committee. Since 2003, she has been Deputy Chair of the CDU in the Land of Baden-Wuerttemberg. From 1995 to September 2015 she was Chair of the Women's Union of Baden-Wuerttemberg. Since September 2015 she is Federal Chair of the Women’s Union (CDU).

The Permanent State Secretary

The Permanent State Secretary is technically responsible for the individual areas of competence, that is, for the Directorates General within the Ministry.

Photo: Portrait of Lutz Stroppe
Source: Federal Government / Steffen Kugler

Lutz Stroppe was born in Wolfenbüttel on 20th October 1956. He is married and has two daughters.

After studying history and political sciences to be a teacher, inter alia at Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz, he went on to work as a research assistant at the Archive for Christian Democratic Policy of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung. In November 1986, he became Director of the Bildungswerk Mainz of the Konrad-Adenauer Stiftung and, in October 1991, Director of the Bildungswerk Berlin of the Konrad-Adenauer Stiftung.

From 1999 to 2001, he served as Deputy Head of Office to the former Federal Chancellor Dr. Helmut Kohl before being appointed Head of Office on 1st February 2001. From 2006 to 2010, he acted as Head of Department for Political Programmes and Analyses at the Federal Headquarters of the CDU.

From February 2010 to July 2012, he was Head of Directorate-General 5 “Children and Youth“ at the Federal Ministry for Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth (BMFSFJ). On 4th July 2012, he was appointed State Secretary at the BMFSFJ.

Since 7th January 2014, Lutz Stroppe has been State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of Health.