Council of Europe

The Council of Europe was founded on 5  May 1949 as the first major European post-war organisation and has its headquarters in Strasbourg (France). It currently includes 47 Member States. Germany joined the Council of Europe in 1950.

The Council of Europe aims to promote the rule of law, human rights and democracy throughout Europe. So far, more than 200 conventions and protocols have been put in place to help guarantee human rights. The progress is checked by monitoring bodies.

Within the Federal Government, the Federal Ministry of Health coordinates conventions in the field of health. These include conventions on organ transplantation, bioethics or medicinal product safety.